TRSA Lauds Exemplary Execs, Corporate Efforts

Staff Writer |

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. — A Northeast/Mid-Atlantic regional textile services company owner and the retired chief executive from one of the industry’s major chains received the Textile Rental Services Association’s (TRSA) highest honor at its Annual Convention & Exhibits recently.

The presentation took place at a ceremony that bestowed several accolades on member companies and individuals.

Recognized with the Operator Lifetime Achievement Award for their service to TRSA and the industry were:

  • Patrick J. Dempsey, chairman, Dempsey Uniform & Linen Supply Inc., based near Scranton, Pa., serving that state as well as New York, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia and Virginia.
  • Lawrence “Larry” Steiner, retired chairman & CEO, AmeriPride Services, headquartered near Minneapolis. He is the third- generation leader of a family company that’s grown into a multi-national organization operating more than 150 production facilities and service centers throughout the United States and Canada, serving 150,000 customers.

Runners-up were Ed Darling, ARAMARK Uniform Services; and DeNeal Feldman, Economy Linen & Towel Service, Dayton, Ohio.

The Maglin Biggie Lifetime Achievement Award, TRSA’s highest honor for an associate member, went to Mark Brim, president of Brim Laundry Machinery Co., Dallas. He’s the second-generation owner of a company that builds washer-extractors, dryers, shuttle conveyors and touchscreen controls.

Jeff Frushtick, Leonard Automatics, Denver, N.C., was runner-up.

ARAMARK Uniform Services, Burbank, Calif., received the SafeTRSA Innovation Award for its access-control technology designed to prevent wash aisle accidents. Runners-up were Cintas Corp., Mason, Ohio; and Linens of the Week, Washington D.C.

Winner of the LaundryESP® Innovation Award was Roscoe Co., Chicago, for its plant renovation that achieved exemplary savings in the use of water, energy and other resources. Runners-up were ARAMARK Uniform Services, Chicago; and California Linen Services, Pasadena, Calif.

Volunteer Leadership Awards were presented to Bill Hermanns, W.H. Linen Supply Co., Clifton, N.J.; Steve Kallenbach, American Dawn, Compton, Calif.; Matthew Kartsonis, Superior Linen Supply Co., Kansas City, Mo.; and Mark Lewis, Dempsey Uniform & Linen Supply.


Digital Edition

Latest Classifieds

Industry Chatter