TRSA Honors Ostrow, Frushtick with Lifetime Achievement Awards

Staff Writer |

CHICAGO — The Textile Rental Services Association (TRSA) named the winners of its top annual awards here last week at its 100th Anniversary Chairman's Dinner, part of its Annual Conference & Exhibits.

Gerald Ostrow, president of CleanCare, Pittsburgh, received the TRSA Operator Lifetime Achievement Award. Pat Dempsey, Dempsey Uniform & Linen, introduced Ostrow and described him as a friend and mentor. He also praised Ostrow—a B 24 bomber pilot during World War II—for his many contributions to the textile service industry and beyond.

“He served on task forces,” Dempsey says. “He served on committees. He served his country. He serves through his church. He came back and he served as chair and he served as a director. He’s going to continue his life of service and achievement. And it puts everything in perspective when you know the man.”

Jeff Frushtick, president/CEO of Leonard Automatics, Denver, N.C., received the association's top accolade for associate members, the Maglin/Biggie Associate Lifetime Achievement Award. He told the audience he is grateful to the people of the industry who make him feel at home wherever he goes, and he thanked them for “the opportunity to come into your laundries, your lives and work together to improve the product that’s going on the street.”

Other award winners were:

  • TRSA LaundryESP® Innovation Award — ARAMARK-Wayne Memorial Hospital, for its focus on environmental sustainability
  • SafeTRSA™ Innovation Award — Cintas Corp., for its ongoing commitment to improving safety in commercial laundries
  • Volunteer Leadership Awards — Outgoing committee chairs Jim Buckman, Cintas; Alan Maness, Milliken & Co.; David Potack and Rob Potack, Unitex Textile Rental Services; Carey Scurria, Alsco; and David Struminger, Mohenis Services

The next day, Jim Doro, president/CEO of Doritex Corp., was elected the 61st chair of TRSA, succeeding Ostrow, who remains on the board's executive committee as past chair.

Others elected or re-elected to TRSA posts were treasurer David DiFillippo, UniFirst Corp., and board members Jim Kearns, Alsco; Bob Brill, Republic Master Chefs; Jim Buik, The Roscoe Co.; Scott Delin, Superior Uniform Group; and Michael Schuelke, ARAMARK Uniform Services.


Digital Edition

Latest Classifieds

Industry Chatter