TCATA Honors Moran with Top Award; Milnor's Kelly Assumes Presidency

Jason Hicks |

FAIRFIELD, N.J. — The Textile Care Allied Trades Association (TCATA) presented the prestigious J. Morry Friedlander Award to Jim Moran, Pellerin Milnor Corp., during the association’s recent annual conference in Austin, Texas.
The Friedlander Award is TCATA’s highest honor and is awarded only when an individual has distinguished himself through outstanding dedication and service.
Moran first served on the TCATA board of directors in 1979 and has served on several committees over the years, including the Nominating, Steering, By-Laws, ACME and Executive committees.
After serving as vice president of the Machinery Manufacturers Group, he served as president in 1984-86. Most recently, he led the association’s multi-year effort to revise the American National Standards Institute’s (ANSI) safety standard for laundry and drycleaning plants. He serves on TCATA’s Government Affairs Committee.
“While there have been many people who have contributed to the association over the years, Jim stands out as an exception,” says Rick Kelly, who assumed the TCATA presidency at the conference. “He has consistently and tirelessly contributed his time and expertise to help make TCATA the successful, strong organization that it remains today.”
Moran joined the Milnor marketing department in 1970 and was named vice president of marketing eight years later. He now serves as vice president and general counsel for the company.
TCATA also presented several other awards and elected new officers during the annual gathering.
It honored the EDRO Corp. for 50 years of membership. The company, which opened its doors in 1946 as a small specialty tool-and-die shop serving the local manufacturing market, is led by second and third generations of family ownership — Ed Kirejczyk Jr., Ed Kirejczyk III, Scott Kirejczyk and Caroline Wojcicki — and is a leading producer of laundry equipment, TCATA says.
The association also honored the Chicago Dryer Co., Des-L Industries and Ideal Products on the anniversary of their 25th consecutive year of membership.
Kelly, vice president of marketing and sales administration for Milnor, succeeded Alex Atwater, A-1 Products, as president for a two-year term.
Kelly has been a member of the TCATA board of directors since 2003, served as vice president of the Machinery Manufacturers Group and is chairman of the Advisory Committee of Member Exhibitors.
Also elected to one-year terms were three vice presidents: Fred Schwarzmann, A.L. Wilson Chemical Co., representing the Supply Manufacturers Group; Bryant Dunivan, Energenics Corp., representing the Machinery Manufacturers Group; and Lawton Jones, Phenix Supply Co., representing the Distributors Group.
Dale Loomis of Loomis Bros. Equipment became secretary-treasurer, having been elected last year. His term runs for two years.
TCATA also elected directors to two-year terms. They include Steve Katz of Kay Industries and Matt Kool of Iowa Techniques, representing the Machinery Manufacturers Group; Kevin Gavlak of Faultless Laundry Products, Steve Mathews of R. R. Street & Co. and David Tingue of Tingue, Brown & Co., representing the Supply Manufacturers Group; Loomis of Loomis Bros. Equipment, representing the Machinery Distributors Group; and Jason Goldenberg of Cleaners Products Supply and Lynn MacDonald of Tri-State Supply Co., representing the Supply Distributors Group.
Kelly Little of Charlotte, N.C., and Scott Frushtick of Denver, N.C., were the winners of TCATA’s annual college scholarships. Little will receive the Dean Allen Education Fund scholarship, and Frushtick will receive the Max Zimmerman Education Fund scholarship. Both will receive $1,000 annually for each of their four years of college.
Little, daughter of Tom Little, Fuller Supply Co., is ranked academically in the top 3% of her senior class and is an active volunteer. She plans to attend Elon University.
Frushtick, son of Jeff Frushtick, Leonard Automatics, is in the top 10% of his senior class, has been in honors classes throughout high school, and is an accomplished musician. He plans to attend North Carolina State University.
Employees and the children of employees of member companies are eligible for the scholarships.

About the author

Jason Hicks

American Drycleaner

Jason Hicks was assistant editor for American Trade Magazines, which publishes American Coin-Op, American Drycleaner and American Laundry News, for more than nine years, and web editor for three years.


Latest Podcast

Guest Donald Bock, principal of Seabright Safety Solutions, shares key points for laundry operators to investigate, and ways to improve shortcomings, to help ensure a facility is as safe as possible.

Want more? Visit the archive »

Digital Edition

Latest Classifieds