Skip to main content

You are here

Schwarzmann Honored with TCATA’s J. Morry Friedlander Award

John Silverman installed as incoming president, anniversary members recognized during conference

ISLE OF PALMS, S.C. — The Textile Care Allied Trades Association (TCATA) reports that it presented Fred Schwarzmann Jr. of A. L. Wilson Chemical Company its highest honor, the prestigious J. Morry Friedlander Award, at its 2022 Annual Educational & Management Conference, April 3-6, at Wild Dunes Resort here.

In addition, John Silverman, president of Tschopp Supply Company of Buffalo, New York, was installed as the incoming president of the association and anniversary members were recognized.

“I was certainly touched by the recognition I received, but I know that my contribution would not have been nearly enough in a vacuum,” says Schwarzmann.” Only by pulling together were we able to protect TCATA through the dark days and relaunch it into a bright future. Thank you once again!”

He served on the TCATA Board of Directors in various positions from 2005 to 2011 and most recently as president of the Board beginning in January 2020.

TCATA says it established the J. Morry Friedlander Award to honor outstanding dedication and service to the association, naming it to acknowledge the unrivaled enthusiasm, dedication and goodwill Friedlander generated in his more than 40 years of service.

Only six people have received the award since it was introduced in 1994.

As TCATA’s incoming president, Silverman will serve a two-year term. He previously served on the association’s Board of Directors representing distributors and in the role of treasurer.

When asked what being a member of TCATA has brought to Tschopp Supply, Silverman shares, “The relationships and connections I’ve made through TCATA have helped Tschopp Supply grow as a company.”

Also recognized at the conference were TCATA Anniversary Members.

Celebrating 75 years of membership are Pellerin Milnor, Gardner Supply and Laun-Dry Supply Company. Seitz The Fresher Company is celebrating 25 years as a TCATA member.

Schwarzmann Earns TCATA’s Highest Honor

Fred Schwarzmann Jr. (far right), of A. L. Wilson Chemical Co., receives the prestigious J. Morry Friedlander Award from Leslie Schaeffer (second from right), CEO of the Textile Care Allied Trades Association (TCATA). Also pictured are (from left) Bill Odorizzi of Sankosha USA and TCATA staffer Luci Ward. (Photos: TCATA)

Schwarzmann Earns TCATA’s Highest Honor

Fred Schwarzmann (left) welcomes John Silverman of Tschopp Supply to the podium as TCATA’s newest president, serving a two-year term. (Photo by TCATA)

Have a question or comment? E-mail our editor Matt Poe at [email protected] .